My First Time

It was a warm summer day in late June. I could smell the lilac bushes from the open window in my room. I put on my yellow terry cloth shorts. The ones with the white stripe on the side. I loved to wear those shorts with the matching striped tank top. I headed to the kitchen for a big bowl of Cap’n Crunch. I mean, I was going to need lots of energy for the day I had planned. I made small talk with my Mom. Brushed my teeth, barely combed my bedhead hair and ventured out on what I knew was going to be a life changing day.
I made my way through our neighbors backyard and onto the “shortcut” of the railroad tracks behind our block. My heart began to beat a little faster. The birds sang to me as if they knew today was the day. I walked in time with their chirps. The air smelled so sweet and clean. Today was my day. And nothing was going to stop me. I reached into the small back pocket of my shorts to make sure it was still there. It was. I kept my hand in my pocket just to make sure it didn’t fall out. No excuses. Today or never.
I took a left onto the path that would lead back out to the street. I could feel my pulse in my fingers that were still in my back pocket. I was beyond excited at the mere thought of using it today. I was making my way out of woods when I saw the building. This is where it would all go down. My life would be forever changed. I sucked in the hot air and sighed. I was more than ready for what was going to happen.
I crossed the busy street. My body trembled with anticipation. The door opened and before me laid my mecca. I made my way to the one I wanted. Our first touch was magical. I ran my hands up and down its spine. I stared lovingly and breathed in its intoxicating fragrance. I read the first sentence, “When he was nearly thirteen, my brother Jem got his arm badly broken at the elbow.” And I was hooked. Yes, this was the one.
I walked to the check-out counter. Carefully, I pulled out my new library card from my back pocket. My first library card. My first time checking out a real book on my own. It was everything I thought it would be and more. They say you never forget your first time. And for me, it’s so true.

Leave a Reply

